Distinguished Speaker Series - Moises Naim

Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 06:00 pm
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 18:00

In honor of our 40th Anniversary, S&T Policy Fellowships invites you to attend our Distinguished Speaker Series. The 2013 series features noted scholars, scientists and policy leaders sharing their insights, discussing today's most compelling science-policy issues. The series is free and open to the public.

In the event that you cannot attend the live talk, we are pleased to offer a webcast of the event. Watch the presentation here.

Event Speakers

Name Bio

Moises Naim

p&Moises Naim is a Senior Associate in the International Economics Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and the chief international columnist for El Pais and La Repubblica, Spain's and Italy's largest dailies and is one of the columnists in The Financial Times "A-List." His weekly columns are also carried by all the leading newspapers in Latin America and in 2011 he was awarded the Ortega y Gasset prize, the most prestigious award in Spanish journalism. Naim is also the host and producer of Efecto Naim, a weekly television program on international affairs that airs throughout the Americas via DirecTV (NTN24) on Sunday nights. Before joining the Carnegie Endowment, Naim was the editor in chief of Foreign Policy for fourteen years a period when the magazine was re-launched and won the National Magazine award for General Excellence three times. He is author of many scholarly articles and more than ten books on international economics and politics including Illicit (2005) and The End of Power (2013). Naim's public service includes his tenure as Venezuela's Minister of Trade and Industry in the early 1990s, director of Venezuela's Central Bank, and executive director of the World Bank. He was also a professor of business and economics and dean of IESA, Venezuela's main business school. He is the Chairman of the Board of both the Group of Fifty (G50) and of Population Action International, and a member of the board of directors of the National Endowment for Democracy, International Crisis Group, and the Open Society Foundations.&

American Association for the Advancement of Science
1200 New York Ave NW
Washington, DC 20005