Symposium: Scientists as Effective Policy Leaders

Friday, May 18, 2018 -
08:30 am to 01:00 pm
Friday, May 18, 2018 -
08:30 to 13:00
The Role of Inclusivity at the Intersection of Science, Business, Community & Government
You are cordially invited to attend the symposium, Scientists as Effective Policy Leaders: The Role of Inclusivity at the Intersections of Science, Business, Community, and Government. This symposium is being presented by the Science & Technology Policy Fellowships Affinity Groups: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI), Mentoring (MAG), and STEM Change through Outreach, Research, and Equity (CORE).
This symposium is being convened to call current and future leaders to action towards growing and maintaining inclusive spaces within a variety of sectors. The event will facilitate interactive discussion with subject matter experts from community, business, and government leadership positions, while providing a venue for these leaders to share their experiences and strategies for developing inclusivity. Attendees will explore opportunities to lead and serve different social strata by promoting and benefiting from intersectionality, engaging in intimate conversations with invited speakers, and participating in traditional panel sessions. We are striving to ensure this is an event that provides tools to our attendees, and will generate a two-page white paper at the conclusion.
8:30-9:00Registration with Coffee/Tea
9:10-10:10Traditional Panel: Science & Government
10:20-11:25Interactive Breakout Session: Science & Community
(3 sessions, 20 min each with 5 min to rotate (75 min))
11:35-12:45Firestarter Sessions: Science & Business
(Each attendee goes to 3 sessions; 5 min ‘pitch’, 10 min discussion, 5 min rotate)
12:45-1:00Closing remarks
*Attendees are invited to stay for a networking lunch after the event

Science and Government
  • Ms. Francine Newsome-Pfeiffer, Rutgers University
  • Dr. Karen Parker, National Institutes of Health
  • Dr. Jennifer Greenamoyer, American Institute of Physics
  • Dr. Elizabeth O’Hare, Lewis-Burke Associates
Science and Community
  • Dr. Ashley Huderson, American Society for Mechanical Engineers
  • Dr. Benjamin Williams, Ron Brown College Preparatory High School
  • Dr. Christopher Williams, AAAS S & T Policy Fellow, FILS Program
  • Dr. Stephanie Rodriguez, Afterschool Alliance
  • Dr. Judi Brown Clarke, Michigan State University
  • Dr. Ann Bonitatibus, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Science and Business
  • Dr. Jennifer Pohlhaus, Ripple Effect Communications
  • Dr. Grant Warner, Howard University
  • Dr. Mateo Muñoz, AAAS S & T Policy Fellow, National Science Foundation
  • Dr. Jennifer Shieh, Small Business Administration
American Association for the Advancement of Science
1200 New York Ave NW
Washington, DC 20005